Oakham Ladies  91  Oakham Gentlemen  132

On a glorious Thursday afternoon  the Bill Birch Memorial Trophy match was  played at the vale

  with 48 Oakham bowlers involved in this annual contest.

The Ladies were assisted by three ‘guest’ players Denise Smith, Norma Hardman and Davina Thorne,

epitomising the friendly nature of the match. Overcoming the Ladies early resistance the Gentlemen

 won by 41 shots. On behalf of the winners the Gents Captain Eddie Owen accepted the

Bill Birch Trophy from the ladies Captain Beryl Birch.


Ray Gregory, Mike Hardy, Bob Spence, John Rogers  beat  Pam Stanley,

 Jennie Owen, Rosemary Gregory, Beryl Birch                                       20 - 16

Graham Cook Terry Thurman, Gwyn Davies, Gail Robertson beat Pat Dawson,

Julie Healey, Di Culshaw,  Ros Carter                                                    24 – 14

 Terry Jeffery, Roger Lancaster, Eddie Owen, Jeff Turnbull beat  Pam Houlden,

Sandra Grainger, Kath Rowlands, Val Crowder                                     33 – 12

 Derek Bury, Roger Rowlands, Bob Swarbrick, Barrie Payne beat Janet Rogers,

Alice Wells, Denis Smith, Jennie Bateman                                            20 – 15

 Peter Grainger, Clive Morris, Peter Ferry, Alan Jones beat  Joan Hardman,

Fiona Munro, David Thorne, Barbara Phillips                                         22 - 16

 Rod Groombridge, David Morgan, Rod Stanley, Chris Wallis lost to Liz Pollard,

Norman Hardman, Mary Smith, Ann Preston-Bambridge                     13 – 18